American V: A Hundred Highways Lyrics Johnny Cash

  • American V: A Hundred Highways Lyrics Johnny Cash.

    Check out the lyrics to the fifth album in Johnny Cash's American Recordings Series. This album continued Cash's strong commercial period that came surprisingly late in life. The songs here are a varied bunch. Some are well travelled roads recorded by Cash's contempories such as Kris Kristopherson. Other songs are not what you would normally expect, such as Springsteen's Further up the Road, from his own comeback album, The Rising. 

    A Hundred Highways Lyrics:

    1. "Help Me" (Larry Gatlin) – 2:51

      Previously recorded by Kris Kristofferson for Jesus Was a Capricorn (1972)

    2. "God's Gonna Cut You Down" (Traditional version) – 2:38

      Previously recorded by Odetta for Sings Ballads and Blues (1956), by Elvis Presley for How Great Thou Art (1967), and by The Blind Boys Of Alabama (as "Run On For A Long Time") for Spirit Of The Century (2001)

    3. "Like the 309" (Johnny Cash) – 4:35

    4. "If You Could Read My Mind" (Gordon Lightfoot) – 4:30

      Originally recorded by Lightfoot for Sit Down Young Stranger (1970)

    5. Johnny Cash - American V: A Hundred Highways (Piano/Vocal/Guitar Artist Songbook)

      Buy the Piano / Vocal / Guitar Arrangements

    6. "Further On Up the Road" (Bruce Springsteen) – 3:25

      Originally recorded by Springsteen for The Rising (2002)

    7. "On the Evening Train" (Hank Williams) – 4:17

    8. "I Came to Believe" (Johnny Cash) – 3:44

      Cash originally wrote this song prior to the sessions for this album

    9. "Love's Been Good to Me" (Rod McKuen) – 3:18

      Originally recorded by Frank Sinatra for A Man Alone &; Other Songs of Rod McKuen (1969)

    10. "A Legend in My Time" (Don Gibson) – 2:37

      Originally recorded by Gibson for Sweet Dreams and Roy Orbison for Lonely and Blue (both 1960)

    11. "Rose of My Heart" by (Hugh Moffatt) – 3:18

      Written in 1981 or 1982 and recorded by many artists, including Moffat for Troubadour (1989)

    12. "Four Strong Winds" (Ian Tyson) – 4:34

      Previously recorded by Ian and Sylvia and Neil Young

    13. "I'm Free from the Chain Gang Now" (Lou Herscher, Saul Klein) – 3:00

      Originally recorded by Cash for The Sound of Johnny Cash (1962)

    1 comment: